Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-06-20 - 3:23 p.m.

I made up a no bake, low carb cheesecake with blueberries on top. It is too good. Now that I can do pictures, I might as well throw up a pic, right?

So here is a close up shot:

Here's how I did it:

Cheesecake filling
1 8 oz pkg cream cheese
1 Cup whipping cream
1/4 Cup Swerve confectioner's sugar substitute
11 or 12 drops EZ Sweetz liquid sweetener
the juice of 1/2 a lemon
about a half cup of fresh blueberries for the topping

Soften the cream cheese to room temp or slightly warmer. stir in the lemon juice and confectioner's sugar substitute. In separate container whip the cream to stiff peaks. Stir the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture. Pour into the crust, add blueberries randomly on top, chill for a couple hours if you can stand to wait.

Crust
1/2 cup almond flour or ground almonds
1 tablespoon butter
dash salt
2 or 3 tablespoons of granulated erythritol

Put the almond flour in a dry skillet and turn on the heat. The idea is to roast the almond bits until they get a little bit golden brown. Just don't burn it. It's good at any point before burnt. Once it is golden brown, pour it in a bowl. I used a standard pasta bowl. You can use a pie plate or any container that seems a good fit. This pasta bowl was perfect for the amount of ingredients. Add granulated erythritol to the toasted almond flour and a dash of salt, mix well. I taste it to see if it is sweet enough and salty enough. I like the salty and sweet flavors together. Melt the tablespoon of butter, you can use more if you like, but the idea is to just use enough butter to stir into the crumbs and get a nice crumbly graham cracker crust consistency. Spread that around in the bottom of your container, and it's ready to fill.

Figuring this pie to have 4 servings, I ate 1/4th of the bowl last night and when I got up this morning I remembered it FIRST THING and ate another 4th. It was even better today. It was firm and will hold the shape of pie on a dish. The other 2 servings are CALLING MY NAME! I have to try to not eat the rest today. No one would ever guess in a million years that this was low carb. You could use strawberries, raspberries, or any kind of berries for the topping. They are the lowest carb fruits.

I'm going to make this next time I have company over.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!