Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-06-09 - 10:27 a.m.

I am in love with this song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncijv1WCnVk

There is a certain type of music that just makes you feel a certain kind of way and this is one of those songs. No wonder John Mayer can't be stopped. He's been through more women than Wilt Chamberlain, I'll bet.

I love music so much. I can totally tweak my moods with it. I have certain play lists for certain moods.

So I was listening intently to this song a few minutes ago, watching the video, completely focused on the visual and audio experience of it and my guard was all the way down... safe in my home, no one here but me, hearing this beautiful music, having dreamy thoughts... when my dog shattered my chi by barking a shrill, high decibel bark right behind me. Now he is doing time in the penalty box. I'm pretty sure he KNOWS I don't like it when he scares me with a sudden bark. I think he likes to see me jump. My other pup is out in the yard. He loves to nap on the porch. This is a fella who knows he is a dog. Dexter, on the other hand, is a bossy little tyrant and he fancies himself an emperor of sorts.

My work load is very light today. I mean I don't have a lot of deadlined stuff due today. Once I get the serious stuff finished, I can just fill in the rest of the day with stuff that has to be done but doesn't have a deadline. My pace totally depends on how much is due on a given day. I'm just coasting in life right now. I could be making a lot more money if I were out there getting after it. I have been enjoying a nice easy pace for a while now. Everything piles up on Mondays because of the weekends, so I always work late on Monday getting it all done. The other days of the week are easier. I'm still waiting on my old boss to open his new facility this summer. I might start working for him on the side again. If so, that will be some nice extra money for travels and stuff.

I'm thinking of going to Mackinac Island for a vacation this year. I've always wanted to go there ever since I saw a travel show about it. It's an island in the great lakes of Michigan. There are several luxury hotels and no motorized vehicles are allowed on the island. You go out there by ferry and then you can rent a bike and go all the way around Mackinac Island in 45 minutes. The views are beautiful. It's really pricey, but vacations are supposed to be 'spensive.

Sometimes I just want to liquidate everything I have and travel the world until I'm out of money. But what a harsh return to reality that would be when the last of the money was gone. Starting over would not be too fun. I guess when my gypsy feet start urging me to sell everything and go nomad, I should take that as a hint that I need a good long vacation. Nothing like a week or so away from home to remind me of how lovely home really is.

See what I did there? Now I'm all justified to go to Mackinac Island.

Here's what is holding me back: I need to research it and find out how much of a hassle it will be to actually get there. I hate connecting flights. If I can get a direct flight to a place near the ferry, I will be happy. Also, I need to shop around because the hotel rates are insane. But you know, if a thing is worth doing, it's worth doing right. I'm not trying to stay at the Motel 6. I need to do some fact gathering. Mackinac Island is a bucket list thing for me.

I guess I'll go by myself unless my best buddy wants to go. My sister makes a pile of money but her husband spends it faster than she can make it, my best friend from childhood is broke ass, my mom has already spent her vacation money for this year, I don't have a boyfriend. It is annoying when you can't dig up a single friend or loved one who can and will go on an adventure. I can find plenty of people to go if I want to pick up the whole tab. I need some like minded friends who have an adventurous spirit and a couple of nickels to rub together.

I need to work on that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!