Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-04-08 - 10:30 a.m.

My Uncle E is in the hospital and is likely dying. He has a neurological disease that slowly takes everything away from you until you cannot move air or swallow. He is in the hospital with double pneumonia, which tells me he is in that last stage and the end is near. At this point, all his quality of life is gone and I know when he passes he will immediately be better. He will be a true free spirit. Ok, this is the saddest I've felt during this whole process. Maybe I should have written about puppies today.

My uncle was quite a character. He was a rascal and a trial. I used to say my prayers as a little child and ask God not to bless him because he was too mean. He liked to tease kids and when I was little and he was babysitting me, he would keep me contained by telling me that if I got off the couch, he was going to hammer my toes to the floor. He kept a hammer close by to occasionally pop the floor as a reminder for me to stay put. He thought this was hilarious. There was a twinkle in his eye the whole time, but he was earning himself some negative prayers with that babysitting technique of his.

He was a strikingly handsome young man back in the day. He had the bluest eyes and the blackest hair. Truly one of the most handsome men I've ever seen. His wife has loved him so much all these years. Even with him totally incapacitated, she doesn't want to lose him. I'm sure it feels to her like the years all went by so fast. This makes me think about the one I love so much and the heartbreak of having had our time together cut short. Life is too short already, without losing part of it.

My folks are on their way to see my uncle. They think this is goodbye. He could possibly live through this, but he is going on a ventilator and there's just not much living left for him to do in the condition he has gotten into.

Sad day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!