Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-03-30 - 6:51 p.m.

I have to make a second entry today because I have to talk about a magical little discovery I've made. I cannot repress myself.

If you are a liker of fruit and of creamy, fruity things like sherbet, yogurt, etc., here's a thing that will give you that fresh fruit, creamy yummy flavor for very little carb content. I made this recipe up.

1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (or almond milk)
1 or 2 strawberries
Your favorite liquid sugar substitute, to taste
Dash of salt, (teeny bit)
3 Tablespoons chia seeds
A shot of cream

Here's what I did: I took about enough frozen strawberry slices to make up 2 medium sized strawberries and put them in my little ninja blender along with a cup of coconut milk, unsweetened, vanilla flavored and a dash of salt. I added 10 drops of my EZ Sweetz liquid sweetener and pulsed it in the ninja until it was all pureed together. Then I poured it in a coffee cup and stirred in 3 Tablespoons of chia seeds and a little shot of heavy cream just for creamy goodness. I let it chill in the fridge for an hour and it thickened into a yummy, fresh-tasting strawberry concoction similar to yogurt or pudding. I might try this with a little yogurt in place of some of the coconut milk just to give it a yogurt flavor. I used to love my Chobani back in the day of carbs.

This is a great way to eat strawberries without racking up carbs. Strawberries are already a low carb fruit and can be just eaten, but I want to stay in ketosis, so I like keeping the carbs way down as much as possible. It's amazing how concerned great big fat people are about not getting their full amount of fruit on a daily basis. I have a friend who does NOT want to cut out one slim carb from her daily feedbag. So I says to my friend "Listen heifer, it's not like you're going to get scurvy."

Details:

The coconut milk I used is a thinner milk, similar to almond milk. There is a thick creamy kind of coconut milk that I am going to try with strawberries and chia seeds in the very near future. I just didn't have any on hand when the inspiration struck me. When using the thicker creamier coconut milk, you would not need the shot of heavy cream.

Speaking of magic... chia seeds are tiny pin points of pure magic. They will thicken up whatever liquid you put them in. The seeds themselves are very healthy for you. They are full of omega-3s. They are low carb, almost all fiber, and they have a fresh taste that I like. I like the feel of them in my mouth. They are a little like poppy seeds. My sister works with a guy who lost a ton of weight by drinking a liquid thickened with chia seeds before eating. It filled him up and made him unable to eat as much.

My artificial sweetener is called EZ Sweetz and I got it from Amazon dot com. It is the best tasting liquid sweetener I've found. Really good stuff.

Another nice discovery: You can bake turnips and they turn out tasting just like little red potatoes. Small turnips are less likely to be bitter, but I am going to try the larger turnips and I'll report back. The small ones are delicious. Here's how I did that: I cut the ends off 3 small turnips, placed them in the microwave for 3 minutes, flip em over, go 3 more minutes, then split them open, add butter and salt, and eat those bad boys. They are so good. You never need a potato when you can have that. I will keep posting my awesome discoveries.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!