Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-03-31 - 12:18 p.m.

I accidentally hurt myself yesterday. I hit my foot on my incredibly heavy computer chair base and it did not even move, but my toes did. I am pretty sure I've broken my pinky toe. My wee digits are swollen and purple. It hurts like a bitch. My pinky toe is tightly swollen and it hurts if I just look at it. The last two toes are the color of storm clouds. I don't want to go to the doctor because I don't think there's anything to be done. Even if it is broken. There's not a break around the joint, because I can move it. It's just really colorful, painful, and swollen like a wee balloon.

I said many bad words, very loudly, in front of the pups. They aren't going to tell anyone though.

So yeah, that happened.

I have a home office off my living room and in this office there's a big desk, equipped with my two large work monitors and my one large personal pc monitor, plus my laptop on occasion, which is used for mobile working and for situations like this morning, when I discovered that my personal pc was stuck in a reboot loop with a message that says "Update failure, undoing changes. Do not turn off your computer." It was stuck like that for a while and I didn't know what to do. I'm short one good computer guy around here so I got out the laptop and googled for answers. I shut off my monitor on the personal computer because the sight of that blue screen was infuriating to my chi. I read up a few elaborate instructions for fixing this apparently common problem, and by the time I figured out what to do, I turned my monitor back on and it had corrected itself. Crisis averted.

I talked to my granny in Colorado over the weekend and she is doing fantastic, considering she is almost 90. She is sharp as a tack. Hasn't lost a thing, mentally. I need to go see her soon. Soonish. She's got plenty of company coming. I'll have to see if she can pencil me in. She did invite me to come visit, so I think I'll be taking her up on that offer sometime in the near future. I wish she would leave me her condo in her will! She's leaving it to a woman who used to be married to her step-son many years ago. A lady who won't even come take her out to dinner, I might add. I wish I could arrange for someone to take her out regularly. She is a lady who enjoys an evening out.

Thought for the day: You don't know how much you need your pinky toe until you destroy it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!