Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2019-12-30 - 12:25 p.m.

Here I am again and it hasn't even been a month or 6 since my last entry. Woot!

I am having a mixed bag of a day. I gave up a big chunk of my weekend to do my Monday work avalanche in advance so I would not be slammed with work today while I try to shovel out from under the latest misery I've heaped upon my own head. I have to report CEUs tomorrow. I thought I had a full year left on the reporting period, but alas, time is up. I have 16 CEUs to capture and this entails me reading 16 boring articles and passing a 10 question quiz for each. It also costs 20 bucks per quiz. It is a RACKET! So... Yay for pre-finished work and Boo for 16 boring articles and quizzes.

So I've got 8 fresh articles just waiting to sand my eyeballs. Once I get that done, I will have to purchase the remaining 8 and do those by 11:59 pm, 12/31/19. I could have done this in small increments, a couple quizzes a month, but noooooooooooo. I like that feeling of panic and fear of career ruination that comes with procrastinating on CEU earning.

So far my day sounds like all shit, but really, I am pleased with myself because all my work is done so I can be leisurely about this quiz ordeal. I'm going to see if I can be off work on Thursday because I've had to work every day except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and they were exhausting because I had a big family gathering here on Christmas Eve and had to spend the day at my ex's house on Christmas Day.

Let me also say... I'm ok with going to the ex's house on the big day and on Thanksgiving, but by the end of Christmas Day, when I am driving home with tired eardrums and jangled nerves, I'm all ex'd out and ready to not see or hear him for a good long stretch. My mom should understand this. She should realize that I'm sick of his shit or else I'd still be married to him, but at the Christmas Day gathering, in a moment of holiday glee, she announced that we all are going to eat New Year's Day dinner at a certain local restaurant and everyone is invited. ::flat stare::

So now I get to spend my one ex-free holiday with my ex. My. One. Day. The only holiday that was going to be Ex free. Here is the problem with going to a restaurant with him: When we all get together there's like 14 of us. We have to wait for a table and it's usually a long wait because they have to get a bunch of tables together for us. Then, my ex is a motor mouth and he yammers non-stop from beginning to end. I don't know how his food gets into his stomach. He is literally yapping the entire time. When he is there, no one else gets to speak or visit. He just holds court. So it's a lost event. It's pointless for me to even be there. Plus, they have a toddler that freakin loves me and I always end up being the nanny because they don't limit or contain her. She is adorable, but I don't want to wrestle with her at the table while I try to eat and that is exactly what will inevitably happen. They could contain her ass in the highchair, but where is the fun in that? So... not fun. Don't wanna. Might bail.

The complicating factor: My family has a yearly tradition of post holiday Gumbo. My dad makes the best gumbo on earth. Just saying. We covet our gumbo and I was very very unhappy to hear that my mom. (Freakin mom, again) has invited the 6 person family headed up by my annoying ex to our annual gumbo night. This means I will have to eat my delicious gumbo while hearing the non-stop vocal stylings of my infuriating ex once again. This is happening January 10. So there I am for the 4th time in what 7 weeks? That's way too much!!

Tomorrow I will tell the cringey tale of what happened on Christmas Day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!