Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-03-11 - 5:16 p.m.

So today, I'm talkin' bout bread, baby. I make really good low carb bread from scratch in just a minute or two. It is flour free, gluten free, sugar free. About 3 carbs per sandwich roll. I microwave it, but if you don't like to microwave stuff or you prefer to take a longer time to cook than 60 to 90 seconds.... this can be baked in an oven.

Bwah, I posted a pic of my sammich earlier today so you can swing by and see what it looks like if you are so inclined.

The recipe for low carb bread rolls can be tweaked for different flavors by adding herbs and cheese to it. I make one roll at a time because it's so quick to do, but you can make a bag of them to be used over several days. This recipe is for one roll. I cook it in an 8 ounce ramekin. These can be bought all over the place. I got mine at Pier 1. It makes a roll bigger than an English muffin and perfectly sized for sandwiches and hamburgers.

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons "Golden Flax Meal" (Amazon.com)
2 Tablespoons Almond Meal (Amazon)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
dash of salt
dash of onion powder
1 teaspoon melted butter
1 egg
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese (can use whatever cheese you like if I use cheddar I put 2 tablespoons. Parm is salty and I don't want the roll over-salted))

Method: I put a pat of butter in my ramekin and microwave it for 15 seconds to melt. Roll it around to spread the butter all over the bottom and sides of the container. In a separate bowl, measure out the dry ingredients. Stir in the egg and drain the excess melted butter into your batter. Mix well and spread it into your ramekin. Microwave for 60 to 90 seconds.

The bread will be soft and yummy and it has a texture much like soft whole grain bread. It's really good. Run a knife around the edges to loosen, turn it out on a plate, cool, slice like a bun. This is good for making garlic bread too. I bet a little personal pan pizza would be pretty good with this as a crust.

There is an excellent substitute for every unhealthy carby thing you shouldn't be eating.

I have a funny puppy story: Today the puppy was stomping around the yard in full Godzilla-destroying-the-village mode, doing things like ripping clover out of the ground and slinging it when he suddenly pounced a mushroom and bit it off. I ran and got him real quick to get the mushroom out before he swallowed it, but he clamped his teeny little mouth shut and wouldn't open. He looked hilarious refusing to give me the mushroom. I had to pry open his mouth and get the mushroom out. I got it pretty quick, but no thanks to him. He is so adorable. I also posted a video of him growling and breaking the neck of a clearly terrified flat raccoon toy. He's fierce and dangerous.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!