Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2021-01-11 - 3:53 p.m.

All is well at the Dojo. I am adjusting pretty well to the whole child rearing situation, considering all things. There have been some trying times, not gonna lie, but there have been a lot of sweet moments too. He is a very cute kid and he is loving and likes to help. Example: Last night I was just exhausted and I needed to finish putting away the groceries and cleaning up the dinner dishes. I said "I am so tired and I don't want to clean up." and he said "I will do it." He is happy when I let him take out the trash. He likes to have chores. I guess it makes him feel like he is pulling his weight. Things are mostly good, but there are some very trying times.

On New Year's Eve, I had a fit to rival the biggest monster in his life (other mom) and this provided us with a needed "Attitude adjustment". He can be destructive, and this is what tripped my trigger. He still engages in some willful disobedience, but he is trainable. God made him cute so I wouldn't kill him, apparently.

I lost my cool on New Year's Eve because he had pulled the stuffing out of a teddy bear that I love and while I was cleaning up that mess, (because he scattered it far and wide like a crazy person) I discovered my childhood diary that I've held dear as a keep sake for lo, these many years. He had ripped it open, ruining the clasp. First of all, he had to dig in my nightstand to find it. No bueno. Secondly, he ripped it open because he thought it was locked and he made the conscious decision to ruin it in order to see inside. When I confronted him he said "I have ADHD." This didn't help me calm down. Earlier on the very same day, he had accidentally broken a ceramic frog that I made as a kid. It upset me more than it should have, because of how long I've had it, it was a world traveling piece of me that has lived in Europe and all over the US without ever a scratch on it - and this kid comes in and carelessly shatters it. I was very upset about the loss of that ceramic frog. It had sentimental value to me. So I was already annoyed while cleaning up an asinine mess from MY teddy bear, gutted all over my floor and I was still smarting from the loss of my ceramic frog, and then my eyes fell onto my now ruined childhood diary, from age 9. Folks, I just lost my shit. I went buck wild. I confronted and yelled and we both cried. It was a come to Jesus meeting. We made a new rule that the next time he breaks something, pulls stuffing out, willfully disobeys, he is going to bed. Right. That. Minute. For his own safety and for my peace of mind, he will carry his ass to bed and not have one more minute of play time till the next day. I will take him out to feed him and he can use the bathroom, but the rest of that day will be spent in his bed without a game or anything. He agreed and hasn't broken a thing since then. 12 days since anything has been broken. Woohoo.

The only other problem I have with him is that I want him to stay his ass in his bedroom until I wake up. I sleep till 8:45 on work days. He wakes up at the ass crack of dawn no matter how late he stays up. I tested this. Let him stay up till after 2 am one night and he was UP at 6 am. It's rare to catch him sleeping. It's like a sasquatch sighting. So the deal is he is supposed to stay in his room and he is allowed to leave his room to use the bathroom. Then he is supposed to go back in his room and play quietly. I leave bananas and oranges in the bathroom so he won't starve waiting for 8:45 to come. But he consistently sneaks out and goes in the kitchen, where my dogs hear him and wake me up. See, that is what it's all about. I don't want him to wake my dogs because then they wake me up. He just continues to break that rule. He goes to the fridge and gets himself a yogurt. Gets yogurt everywhere like a Hansel and Gretel trail. Today I told him "You ain't slick. You'd better look into learning to be a hero, because you make a lousy criminal. You leave a trail of evidence. I know exactly what you've done as soon as I get up." So now I am going to use the lock I bought for the fridge. Since he apparently is not going to obey about that, I will take away his motivation by locking the fridge.

He was out for a 2 week Christmas break and I was so damn happy to send him back to school last Monday. No one has ever cherished public school more than I do. On Wednesday morning I got a call from the principal's assistant at the school and she said my boy was one of a few kids who were exposed to someone with Covid. So we are quarantined for 2 weeks. No public school to keep his little ass busy all day. Luckily for me, video games completely absorb him. For the most part, he is a perfect little angel. He lets me do my work. He is busy even as we speak, playing a game on his bed.

We watched the latest Ninjago movie last night and that was a good time. We just have to make it through this week and he goes back to school next week. Unless we are all under marshal law or something. Har Har.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!