Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-12-07 - 8:48 p.m.

Can I interest anyone in a slightly scuffed 9 yr old for the low, low price of free?

Just kidding. I wouldn't trade him for a gold monkey. He was very good today. He seems to be calming down some. I'm going to teach him to be a laid back dude. He's gonna have his mind on his money and his money on his mind.

I value my "me time" so much and I've designed my life to be single and happy about it and here I am again with my solitude very rudely interrupted. God must be helping me. It's going pretty well. My boy likes to help and is always trying to take over a chore or do a thing for me. When we go to the grocery store, he scans the groceries and I bag 'em. I held the very tall ladder while he climbed up and changed my blown out light bulb. I usually have to wait till my nephew comes over to get a light bulb changed, so this was awesome. My boy looks like a 6 year old, but he will be 10 in the spring. I asked him if he would like to go to the doctor and get some human growth hormone so he can grow big and he said "No! I don't want to lose my Ninja Powers!" I said "Oh yeah, that's right! Ninja's are little." I may look into the hormone thing because he is seriously a tiny little guy and he said he is dreading school because everyone is going to say he looks like a kindergartner and they will call him a midget. I guess he has heard that sort of thing before. Poor little guy.

Tomorrow is his first day in public school. Home-schooling was a flipping nightmare. We did that for one sorry week and I almost lost my mind. I've found my limitation and it's home-schooling an ADHD kid. I'm giving up my ability to sleep in every day. I really treasure that sleeping-in thing. I start my work day at 9 am so I sleep till like 8:45. This has been a joyful thing for me and now I have to have his little ass out at the school bus by 7:01 am. We shall see if I can go back to sleep after being up and at em for an hour. Doubtful. Maybe I will turn into a morning person. Also doubtful.

I thought I was done raising little kids. I took in my sister and her kids once upon a time and they lived with me for years, then I moved to Texas and let them stay there in my house. A few years later my nephew came to live with me again and then when my true love died, I needed my alone time back and my nephew was 20 by then, so I had my house to myself for a while. Then I moved to Arkansas and took my kid back in to help her relocate to this area and she moved out last June... and now I've got this little rascal eating me out of house and home and cheating me out of valuable sleep time. Lucky for him, I'm very attached to the little feller.

I have to go lay out all his stuff so I can get him ready in the 45 minutes I've carved out for us. I cannot believe I'm going to be leaving my house before 8 am. I haven't done that in years. To be honest, I haven't missed it. *Not* a morning person.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!