Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-09-17 - 1:18 p.m.

I AM STUCK IN THE MOST BORING, SOUL SUCKING, TIME WASTER OF A MEETING!!!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Seriously. We are having software built and the team who is building it inflicts upon us at least one weekly call in which really nothing is accomplished. I've never in my career had to deal with this. Usually when we get new software, they just roll it out. They show us, briefly, how to use it and we are on our own. Today's call is just an extra BONUS call and it goes till 2 pm! From 12:30 to 2pm for nothing. That's an hour and a half of my life I'll never get back. They are asking us questions that we haven't had a chance to even look into since the software is not available for us to test. It seems like a mistake that they even arranged this call, since we can't answer any of their questions today. This team also requires each of us to fill out a spread sheet each month to track all the calls we were on to count our time. Is that crazy or what? I'm salaried, so I don't keep up with or report my hours Seems like a lot of unnecessary tripe to deal with.

On the upside, I can totally play instead of work right now, so it's not all bad. I'm listening to the call, but I'm not participating unless they call on me.

So. Yesterday I got a big fat check in the mail for a consulting job I did. Ahhh it feels good. I thought they were going to jerk me around for it there for a minute. They kept asking me to change this, change that, sign this (thing I already signed). Finally, after about the 4th correspondence asking me for something we already signed sealed and delivered, I called the lady and asked her if they have everything they need to process my payment and asked her when can I expect to see it in my mailbox. You'da thunk I threatened to send my cousin Vinnie over to collect, because the lady just snapped out of it and said I would have it by this week and here it is.

My next big project: I'm about to learn to use Blender software for mesh building in a virtual reality environment. I'm a virtual reality content creator in my spare time. LOL. I have been out of Second Life for literally years. I mean, I've gone in a time or two but haven't done anything in there in ages. I recently went back in and found that everything has changed tremendously. Back in the olden days, we used to build with prims, then with sculpties. Now everything is done in mesh and it is much lower prim and greater detail. It looks like a daunting task to learn to do this, but I am going to do it. Instead of medical side projects, I'm going to do a little creative side stuff. Hopefully.

I got myself a parcel of land and I've built it up into a really nice little place. I'm not done with it yet. I'd like to have a whole sim, and if I can get some success with my new builds once I learn how to build with mesh, I may get a sim. It will have to pay for itself though, so it will probably take me quite a while to get to that point. If ever.

I have much to learn.

My boring meeting ended a little early, so now I have to get back to work!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!