Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-08-28 - 11:39 a.m.

Friday again!

On Wednesday, something great happened to me. My boss, who loves me and appreciates my independent work style, called me to let me know I would be getting a $1500 bonus at the end of the week to show their appreciation for everything I do for them!

Lo and behold, it's there in my bank account today! Completely unexpected reward. I'm blindsided with joy. Hoooo... I really stepped in something good this time. ha. I have a boss who fully admits he knows nothing about my specialty so he leaves it to me to just handle it. That is how I work best. He is not stupid... he had the people who train us audit my work and give a full report on the quality of it and they gave me high marks so he feels he can trust that the work will be accurate. My new company is growing. I got in on the ground floor in an enterprise that will one day (in the next 5 years) be a big deal. Our CEO is known for being a really great person. I feel lucky.

Hurricane Laura wrecked Lake Charles, Louisiana, but was less damaging than expected for the rest of the places it passed through. The people of Lake Charles would probably not say it was less damaging than expected, but the other places would. I am SO happy I don't live on the coast anymore!!! Why would anyone buy property in a coastal place??? Ok, I did buy a house where I used to live on the Gulf of Mexico, but I knew it was temporary and Hurricane Harvey was the very last straw. I had to prepare for hurricanes, evacuate, live without electricity, get screwed out of my pre-paid vacation to Estes Park, and live at my work place one time (before I started working from home) all during the time I lived in the Gulf. I won't be living on the coast by choice ever again. I was lucky my house didn't flood during Harvey. The town looked like a lake, water was up to roof tops in front of my neighborhood and in the back of the neighborhood behind my street. There was only a narrow area that didn't flood and my house was in that area. Thank God.

I moved inland, where I shall stay. I'm a landlubber! I live right up at the top of Arkansas in the northwest corner. Theoretically out of reach of hurricanes, though Laura made me doubt that there for a minute. The storm was supposed to travel up Arkansas and hang a right before it reached my neck of the woods, but it seems to have veered off sooner than that. I thought we would get storms off it and maybe tornadoes, but it looks like we are in the clear. Woot! Yesterday I was wondering if I should go to the grocery store and get stuff in case of bad storms. I'm out of salad stuff and I'm off the carbs again.

FYI: if you are planning to shop online for Christmas, you should get on that. I ordered something for my sister's birthday 2 weeks in advance and it is still not here. Her birthday was more than a week ago. ::flat stare:: I wanted that thing myself... and planned to order more if it's as nice as it looked in the ad. So now, it's going to be mine and if it is nice enough, I'll order more for 2 or 3 people's Christmas gifts. We shall see. I don't want to say what it is in case the sister has found this blog. She has asked about it before but I never gave her the name of it because I didn't know if I wanted her to know every thing I've ever said. I did, after all, contemplate murdering her offspring for eating all my chicken salad one time. My boy. I love him as if I'd squeezed him out myself.

And on that weird note, I shall bid you good afternoon...

I gots work to do.

:-)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!