Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-08-21 - 11:56 p.m.

Whaaaaaaaat? My last entry starts out with me saying it's Friday again already. So, ditto. Friday yet again!

I had a nice week. The weather was just ridiculous in a good way. We've been having high 70's to mid 80's in the hottest part of the day for the past week. Late August is not a time for pleasant temperatures where I come from. In Kingwood, Texas it is miserably hot this time of year. My dear friend still lives there and she tells me to shut my filthy mouth when I tell her it's only 78 degrees in August. Her whole family lives there and I know she will never move from there, but I wish she would move here!! She is such a good, fun, friend.

This is my family's birthday week. My mom, sister, and nephew all have their birthdays during the same week and we do a combined birthday party for them every year. This year, my folks are on the ketogenic diet. My sister, daughter, and I are all about to jump back on the wagon and go keto next week, but we decided to have all the food be keto stuff so we don't throw my folks off their plan. They are having great success.

Mom is making a brisket and a big green salad, my sister is making a keto salad that tastes just like potato salad but you substitute cauliflower in place of potatoes. My daughter is roasting some Brussels sprouts and I have made a magnificent keto cheesecake that I promise you can not detect that it is sugar free. I made a huge one in a big rectangle glass baking dish. I want to eat a piece of it so bad right now. No can do. It's the birthday cake. I'm going to sprinkle some fresh blueberries on it tomorrow just before I set out for mom's house.

All my gifty plans went FUBAR. I ordered a lovely gift for my sister and it has not come in. I ordered it 2 weeks ago and it should have had plenty of time to get here. So tomorrow I'm going to do a little panic shopping before the family shindig. The nephew always wants cash. I hate to give cash for a gift, but that is really what he wants so I was supposed to get cash while I was out today and the do it yourself register I was using would not give the cash. I will have to hit up an ATM tomorrow I guess. My mom's gift came in yesterday. I thought I was going to end up empty handed because nothing was delivered for so long. I ordered her a couple of blouses that she loved on QVC and only one blouse arrived and it didn't show up till yesterday! Deliveries are taking longer due to Covid. Not sure how the virus stops trucks from delivering on time but here we are. I guess I will wrap the one blouse I received and tell her she has another one coming. So I've got a grand total of 1/2 of a gift for 3 birthday people. hahaha.

I have some good back up ideas for sister and I can go to my bank and get some money for the boy. I should go ahead and do my Christmas shopping right away since it's taking a long time to receive orders.

That cheesecake is calling my name. I made the crust out of toasted almond flour and chopped pecans, melted butter and swerve brown sugar substitute. I love creamy fruity things on a yummy crust like that. Can't believe that is diet food.

The leaves on my walnut trees behind my house are turning yellow and dropping off already. The walnut trees are always the first to get nekkid. But the other trees have not even started thinking about turning yet. I hope we have a very colorful Autumn this year. Fall is my favorite season.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!