Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-04-28 - 3:02 p.m.

I've been MIA for a while now. I had big things happening.

I unloaded my formerly liked boss. UNLOADED! Ya heard? I reached the end of my tolerance for her brand of bullshit, so I hatched a plot and carried it out.

I worked for a large Fortune 500 company for 10 years, all total. For nearly 7 years I had a perfect record and there were no real problems. I had managers who did not understand my specialty and at times I had a ridiculously large work volume, but I was well liked and well respected by my bosses and co-workers. Then we acquired a chain of specialty hospitals and the new boss affiliated with that chain of hospitals became my direct supervisor. She was a lousy leader, had no clues about our industry, and she decided at some point that she didn't like me. She probably thought I would take her job one day. She started cooking up ways to try to get me in trouble or cause me a hassle. It seemed to be her hobby. She targets a lot of people, so I was just one of her numerous targets, but I am tenacious as hell and didn't let her run me off my position until I was ready to give it up. I had a personal goal of achieving my 10 year anniversary with the company and I was by God going to make it, regardless of her bullshit. So I plotted my plan, cultivated my new job offer, and onboarded with my new company while my 2 weeks of notice played out. Then within 5 days of reaching my anniversary, I turned in my notice. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall when she got my resignation letter. She is going to miss me a lot more than she thinks. I do a tremendous volume of work and I'm really good at what I do.

A funny thing happens when you know you are quitting a place. You cease to give a fuck. Not one slim fuck was growing in my field where fucks are grown, so I had none to give. I was thinking "What they gonna do? Fire me?" She was toiling away, searching high and low for things to confront me about... meanwhile I was chillin like a villain, caring not at all for I knew what I was planning. At first, I wanted to give an explosive letter of resignation, telling her off in the most infuriating way possible, but I decided to go out classy instead. This was about my life and my career, not about her. This was my exit from what had been a very good job for a good company that just happened to acquire an unethical ass nugget when they bought that chain of hospitals. But I did give a rather explosive exit interview making sure her boss, HR, and everyone up the line will know that an excellent, 10 year employee left the company due to ethical concerns because of her unprofessional and unethical methods. I named names, I related events, I detailed where the bodies are hidden, and she will have a super fun time digging out from under the scrutiny avalanche she will no doubt receive. She is going to get exactly what she deserves.

Meanwhile, I got a 20K raise. One of the lousy things she did to me was pass me over for raises every year. My new job is paying me enough to make up for every missed raise and then some. I love the job. It's easy peasy. I also have a new side job, but it is just a consulting project, so it ends soon. I might do a few consulting jobs here and there or possibly get a permanent side job. My one job pays enough, but my inner Scrooge McDuck probably can't handle just one paycheck. I got my final paycheck with all my PTO pay out. I had like 236 hours of PTO so it was quite a paycheck. If only they could all be like that.

I was thinking I could do some writing or other creative things now that I have a lot more free time. So far, I've been a bit of a slug. Nothing creative has been done. I've cleaned the hell out of some things, done a little re-organizing, packed up all my equipment from the old job to send back to them. Fed Ex is coming tomorrow to take it away.

I'm tired of the quarantine. I am not planning to go out licking doorknobs or anything, but I think a quarantine is unnecessary and is actually compounding the problem, currently. It doesn't make sense that we can all go to walmart, home depot, etc. but we can't go to other businesses. Many millions of people had H1N1 (me included) and we didn't really hear much about it. Nothing closed down. This virus will do what all viruses do. They start, accelerate, spread, die down, and recede. No matter what we do, they will take that path. The states that didn't do a lockdown order, my state is one, didn't have any worse spread than the ones that did lock down orders. The lock down didn't have much affect at all. Arkansas should be back in business very soon. Thank God. All the lockdown did was wreck the economy and cause people to lose their businesses and jobs.

The economy will come back strong and fast, I believe.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!