Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-01-09 - 6:36 p.m.

My house smells like something delicious right now because I have Rice Royale in the oven. It's so good.

Cajun food.

Hello.

I was born in Texas to a military family and I've lived all over the US, (including Hawaii) and Europe. But my parents are from Louisiana so I know the ways of the Cajun food. I'm going to post my recipe and you can try it if you want to discover a comfort food that will make you want to slap your grandma.

I always eyeball everything and measure nothing, because I just *know* the right amount when I see it, but I will give you my best approximation.


First, you're going to need the Trinity of Cajun food: (peppers, onions, and celery)
1 bell pepper chopped pretty small, like quarter inch cubes
1 onion chopped like the pepper
Celery, sliced, to equal the amount of bell pepper
2 or 3 cloves of garlic, minced
3 or 4 green onions, sliced
1 teaspoon salt
a few shakes of Franks Red Hot or Tabasco - more if you are Cajun or love spicy food.
Soy sauce - a little less than 1/4 cup
2 cups water
1 cup white wine
12 ounce pack of Cajun Andouille sausage. (Savoie's is good)
1 1/2 Cup uncooked white, long grain rice

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees

First thing I do is chop the veggies and garlic, chop the sausage into rounds, at least a 1/4 inch thick. I cook this dish in a big skillet that I know everything fits in and can go in the oven. I spray or drizzle my pan with oil, add the sausage rings, and brown them up a little. scoop out the sausage onto a paper towel lined dish to drain and saute the veggies in the pan in the drippings till wilted. Add the garlic. Put in the water, wine, salt, hot sauce, soy sauce. Bring to a boil, cook 2 minutes. Add the uncooked rice, the sausage rounds, and the green onions. Stir well. Put on a tight fitting lid and bake in the 375 degree oven for 30 minutes, then reduce heat to 350. Bake 15 - 30 minutes more. My dad likes it to have a brown crispy bottom and it does at 30 minutes, but I prefer it non-crunchy so I do 15 minutes on 350. At this point, it should be perfectly done, but if the rice isn't done all the way you can cook it as long as you want to. Till the rice is done.

People, when I tell you this is delicious.... words just don't adequately portray the glory that is this wonder of Cajun cuisine. It is so flavorful. Tangy, spicy, meaty, ricey. It's Cajun comfort food.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!