Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2019-08-30 - 12:30 p.m.

Friday again! The weeks are rolling by so fast. I say that on so many of my posts, but I'm always amazed at how fast time flies. Time used to seem so slow when I was a kid. I couldn't wait to get more freedom. In fact, I didn't wait. I knew the city bus route by heart when I was 11 years old and I used to go to the mall by myself. I was not allowed to go all over town alone, I just ... took liberties.

I pulled off my first heist when I was an infant, not yet walking. I don't know how my mother managed to lose track of an infant, but she was a rather busy housekeeper, and liked to leave doors open for fresh air. I suppose she thought I was napping when I was actually in the next door neighbor's house, stealing canned corn from her floor level cabinet. I was caught in the act but I was rewarded with the spoils of my heist. The nice lady next door warmed up the creamed corn and fed it to me. She was like a grandma figure.

So I've always been independent.

I would sometimes climb fences into people's yards on the route to elementary school and then "forget" to go to school. I'd get on the city bus and go places instead of school sometimes. I did a lot of wacky things, now that I think about it. I've always been a sleep walker, so my parents used to barricade the front door to prevent me leaving during the night. I'm still a sleep walker to this day, but I do relatively tame things, like turn the AC to the coldest setting, or the heat to the hottest. I used to worry, when I lived in Texas, that I would go outside my apartment naked while asleep. I don't think I've tried to leave the house in my sleep for the past few years... unless I didn't wake up during a naked outing. ha. Let's hope not. I'm less stressed now than I've ever been. I think I'm happier, though I've got some battle scars from grief and such. I'm happier now because I live amongst my loved ones in a great place where the climate is mild. It's only 72 degrees today, for example. So nice. I'm happy to not be isolated in Texas anymore.

I am so happy it's Friday and I have a long weekend. I really don't feel like working today. I want to play and do creative things. I wish I could take a 6 month sabbatical without losing either of my jobs. It would be so great to just have an extended period of doing things I want to do without having to worry about work. ::le sigh::

Speaking of the dreaded task... I gots to go.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!