Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2019-06-26 - 2:43 p.m.

I'm feeling very happy these days. I feel secure and comfortable. I absolutely love this place I moved to a year ago. My friends in Texas and ex-neighbors have been suffering terribly in the ungodly heat and humidity for months and I have yet to feel any summer discomfort. It's in the mid-80's here and the humidity is a fraction of what it was in Texas. Mid-80's here is a whole lot more comfortable than mid-80's where I used to live. July is the hottest month and before you know it, we will have blown through the summer and will be easing back into a glorious Autumn season, which is my favorite season of all.

I've been adding to my home decor lately and I like the changes. My kid is doing well and she lives with me now, so we are having a great time. I am loving my family and seeing my folks all up while they are relatively young and healthy. My dad has tried to die 3 times, but luckily he is not that good at dying and has not mastered it yet. He has used up at least 4 of his 9 lives. Vietnam, cancer, and 2 heart episodes. Best. Dad. Ever. I hope he lives to 140 or so.

Work life is pretty good. Work is easy, pay is plentiful, opportunities are abundant, and work / life balance is superb. I'm not under the microscope right now, which is awesome. I came close to quitting recently, because my formerly liked boss is a complete asshole and she harasses me occasionally, apparently for fun. She sent me 6 different confrontational emails in one day, just trying to pick an incident I guess. None of it landed well because my work is timely, accurate, and I'm experienced and dependable as hell. She couldn't hang anything on me, but not for a lack of trying all damn day. Eventually, I told another person who works with both of us that I've had it with this BS and "was" planning to put in a whole career with this company but if I'm going to be harassed like this it's not worth it. I'm pretty sure she called the formerly liked boss and warned her she is about to lose a work horse that can ALWAYS be counted on and all of a sudden I received a very calm and collected damage control phone call from the asshole herself. Trying to ever-so-gently reeeeeel it back in before I tell her to roll it up and shove it. I have a friend who is lateral in rank to the formerly liked boss. She says the woman is jealous of me and afraid I'll take her spot because I have more than twice her experience. She doesn't know that I wouldn't take her job for twice her pay because it doesn't have the level of freedom I have in my job. Plus, I don't want to manage people. My friend asked me why I stay and it's because I'm only unhappy when the asshole is trying to harass me. The rest of the time I have lots of free time and it's work that I enjoy. I get paid good money whether I have any work to do or not. I would have to be crazy to give that up of my own free will. I get pissed real fast when she starts with me though and I always think about how enjoyable it would be to tell her that since she's an insufferable asshole, I'm gone and GOOD LUCK FINDING A NEW ME. That is better left a fantasy. I like my paycheck and my cushy job.

I ordered a nice set of mattresses from QVC recently, expecting the set to be incredibly comfy and plush due to the huge pillow top. When I got it, I noticed it made my already tall bed quite a bit taller. I have to use a step stool to get in it. Soon I realized this bed is just too firm for me. I feel like I'm planking, rather than snuggling in a soft bed. So I went and got a 4 inch memory foam topper with a padded mattress cover. Now my bed is just ridiculously tall. There's no way I could get in it without my trusty step stool. The top surface of my bed comes up to my boobs. The headboard is very, very tall and it is ornately carved. I have an awesome bed. My queen size sheets do not fit anymore. I had to order a King size fitted sheet to cover this beast. I washed my new sheet that matches a set I have and I've dressed my bed in all these fresh linens. I will sleep so good tonight. The memory foam topper feels great. This bed is as cushy as I want it to be. No dust mites will ever penetrate all the many layers, so this set oughta last a long time.

Life is good.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!