Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2017-02-20 - 1:57 p.m.

I managed to get a lot of work done last night! I didn't turn it in until this morning, so it looks like I've been working like a demon this morning. This gives me a nice head start that I really needed. I'm thinking about asking the boss if I can work Sun-Thurs and have Friday and Saturday for my weekend. That would help me out since the train wreck happens on Mondays. Everything is due from Fri, Sat, Sun, and Mon all at once. I play catch up all week sometimes. So if I worked Sunday like it was a regular work day, I would take all the sting out of Monday and have a whole day's head start every week. Plus it would give me 2 days out of the work week where no one from work will contact me. That means no harsh surprises on those days, no scrutiny, just happy and peaceful production. Yezzz.

I made a crock pot full of dog food for my pups. I'm going to give the recipe in case anyone has dogs and wants to try it:

2.5 pounds ground beef
1.5 Cups brown rice
1.5 Cups chopped butternut squash
1.5 Cups chopped carrots
1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 Cup green peas, canned or frozen
4 Cups water

Load it all into a large crock pot and cook 5-6 hours on low or 3 hours on high. Let it cool completely. Keeps in the fridge for about 6 days. Freeze what you can't use up in 6 days.

My dogs scarf this up. They can't believe their luck. I had everything on hand already except the butternut squash, so I bought one and I have 2/3 of that bad boy left. I'm going to roast it for dinner.

You'll find that the rice has soaked up all the juice and the consistency is nice for dog food. Dexter picked out the kidney beans and left them neatly beside his bowl. I guess he doesn't care for kidney beans. Surprising, since he loves other kinds of beans and peas. Jax came around and ate the kidney beans Dexter didn't want. This homemade dog food is supposed to be more healthy than the canned dog food. I hope my two divas don't get tired of it and start boycotting.

My other half has been dead for 7 months today.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!