Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2016-06-03 - 4:47 p.m.

While my parents were here visiting, we went out to dinner on Saturday night. Luckily for us, there are some restaurants close by that were not obstructed by flooded roads at the time. We went to one of our favorite places. We had a very extremely friendly waiter. My mom was convinced he was flirting with me, but I thought he was just working us for a big tip. He called us "family" every time he came to the table and I felt like it was a technique that he had been taught. Server techniques, like steaks, are better when they are not overdone.

He managed to let us know that he was an ex-Navy guy and he needed money. And that God is good. And he was tired. And he was working a lot of lonnnng hours to pay for something expensive. With every trip to our table, he gave another piece of the story. At the end of our meal, after the bill was paid and my father had gone out to get the car, this guy swung by and gave us the rest of the saga. He was about to go to court. He said he had faith in God and in his defense attorney. Turns out, he's a pedophile and was caught in a sting operation that he referred to as "entrapment". A cop posed online as a "teenager" and this dude thought he was talking sexually explicit stuff with a kid. When they do those sting operations, they pretend to be 12, 13, or 14. They are not pretending to be 17 or 18. They are making sure there is no doubt at all that this is a predator, seeking out a kid for sex. Like Jared from Subway.

I don't believe I would've told that if I was him.

Since he surrounded this news bomb with a lot of Christian speak and presented it as his testimony, I guess he was expecting it to play like something wonderful. My mother was completely sucked in and bamboozled by the God language. He said he had gotten "caught up in sin". And he was "entrapped" by the authorities. If he goes to jail, he is going to find the inmates somewhat less forgiving than my mom, I would imagine. His Christian stuff sounded pretty well-versed, but the fact that he called it "entrapment" as if the cops were in the wrong, is very telling.

I was ready to go find Dad. -.-

He shouldn't be talking about that stuff to customers. If the manager gets a whiff of that, he will probably be peddling his story in a different restaurant pretty quickly. If he tells that story to the wrong Daddy of preteen girls, he might get his ass kicked at the table.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!