Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2016-05-12 - 7:02 p.m.

Cooking is so easy. There is no excuse to be bad at cooking. I have a cousin who pretends not to know how to cook. I think in her circles it is considered trendy or something.

I'm learning a lot of cool things from the Apron of Blueness. I found out that I reeeeally like chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce. I almost missed that experience because I didn't think I would like it. I was going to omit it from the recipe it came with because I don't like super spicy things and the instructions said to wash your hands and cutting board really well after chopping these. But I got curious... so I drizzled a little Adobo sauce in the slaw I was making that called for one chopped chipotle pepper and Adobo sauce. I stirred that in a little and tasted it and ERMAGERD it was so good. It goes against everything I thought I knew about me and spicy, smokey stuff. I don't care for smokey flavors unless I am in the mood for BBQ. Adobo sauce tastes kind of like good spicey BBQ and that is not a flavor I would associate with slaw. But in it went! I diced the pepper very finely and added it plus every speck of the sauce into the slaw and it was magnificent. I think even Philly Boy would like it because it doesn't have the bell peppery flavor that he hates and there was no texture whatsoever to the chipotle since it was stewed or something.

Tonight I am making some chicken thighs. I used to hate the dark cuts from a chicken and now, thanks to Blue Apron, I have learned to love chicken thighs.

I told one of the cashiers at the little market I often shop at about Blue Apron and took her email address and name so I could send her a voucher for a free box of food. She cashed that puppy in, too. Blue Apron lets their members give out these vouchers so you can get the first week free if you want to try it and you don't have to ever order it. If you do order, it's $59.95 for a box containing the ingredients and instructions for 3 meals for two. You get to choose 3 meals from 6 menu choices each time you order. You can exclude seafood or pork or whatever you don't eat. There are vegetarian choices too and they are awesome. There are a lot of exotic ingredients that would be expensive if you went out and bought full sized containers for these recipes.

If anyone wants to try it and doesn't mind sending me your real name and email address, I will have them send you a voucher for a free box. I only have 4 more that I can give until some further date when they give me more. I don't get a prize if anyone does it. I don't make any money or get any free boxes, for recruiting people. I just like to give away the free boxes.

If you are in the USA and you want to try it, email me at [email protected] and I'll hook you up. Even you Philly. ;-) Let nana cook my true love 3 good meals. Fuh Free.

You could cook them yourself. It's always easy peasy. I am saving the big glossy recipe instructions for a cook book I'm putting together.

My chicken thighs are ready.

::love::

One more random thing... the cashier who sent me her email address sent me one with the name "Ravens wind" in it and now I am sorely tempted to call her "crow fart". I do not know her well enough to do that. I hope I don't blurt it out next time I see her.

"Hey Crow Fart, you don't mind if I call you Crow Fart, do ya, Crow Fart?"

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!