Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2016-04-29 - 4:35 p.m.

TGIF maaaaan, TGIF.

Stick a fork in me, I'm done! I just clocked out of my main job and I don't even have anything pressing to do for my side jobs!! I am free, like the unfettered fowl sung about by Lynyrd Skynyrd in days of yore. (Before the very, very harsh landing.)

Now what?

My folks got a new SUV. All spiffy and loaded. I predicted this very thing to happen when I got my new SUV, all spiffy and loaded. hahaha. I've caused my folks to buy more than one vehicle. I have 3 family members who drive a car like mine because they liked mine so much. I have 2 more family households using maid service now because of my maid service. These people are easily led.

I made a really good Blue Apron dinner last night. It was seared chicken over a bed of rustic vegetables that included purple potatoes, green apple chunks, onion, and kale. There was some fresh ground mustard seed in it and toasted almonds. The vegetable mixture was really good with the flavors of potato and tangy apple and horse radishy tasting mustard seeds. I will be making that some more times. There were only 2 purple potatoes in the whole skillet, so it was not too carb heavy, though there was the feeling of getting a good amount of potatoes on the plate. That is the way to do it. Not too starchy.

I am getting a box from Blue Apron Tuesday and then I've cancelled the next 2 boxes. I still like it and it's a very worthwhile experience. I'm learning things that I will keep in my cooking repertoire, but I find it to be a bit of a pressure to have to cook a gourmet meal 3 nights in a row every week... Dinners that require me to read instructions and carry them out. It's fun when I feel like doing it, but stressful when I don't. The veggies are fresh and organic so I like to get them cooked quickly before they get unfresh. I am going to slow it down and only take the boxes that have something I really especially want. The next 2 weeks will be a break for me. But that third week is going to have Chinese steam buns involved in a dinner and I'm going to take every opportunity that comes along to get those. They are awesome. I made these Korean sliders one night that were just spectacular. The meat had garlic, fresh ginger, black bean sauce mixed in and I made some spicy mayo out of mayo and gochujang - a spicy chili paste. The steam buns are warmed up by steaming for 3 to 5 minutes and they swell up during the steaming. Spicy mayo, fresh cucumber slices, and the burger patty goes in the soft yummy bao rolls and it is incredibly good stuff. You can't hardly find those buns, even online. I thought Amazon would have Chinese steam buns but they don't. It's probably just as well. I don't need the carbs. But I will take advantage of the occasional chances I get with Blue Apron.

And now...I'm going to go cook.

::love::


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!