Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-07-08 - 10:25 a.m.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/meat/interviews/pollan.html

The article found at the link above is what I was talking about the other day when I was ranting about pigs and corn and liver lesions. This is the guy who was talking on NPR about this topic. It's an interesting article.


Animals are being fed corn because it is cheap and convenient when in reality cows and pigs were not made to process a steady diet of corn. Cows were made to eat grass. When they are fed grass, they turn into highly nutritious beef. A steady diet of corn in cattle causes liver abscess! This article explains all this better than I did when I was ranting about corn being bad for pigs and maybe not the best choice for humans either.

This article says that 15 - 30 percent of the livers from slaughtered cows are too abscessed to be used for food. That's so disgusting. Sick livers make sick animals. So we are basically eating sick animals all the time. That can't be good.

I've decided that I'm going to start buying grass fed beef. It's more expensive, but I think it matters. Wild caught salmon, grass fed beef, organic produce. I already don't buy processed foods so I'm already better off than the average consumer. Americans don't think about what they put in their bodies for the most part. More than 60% of Americans are overweight and over 30% of those are in the morbid obesity range. I think this is because restaurants give huge portions and people have grown up eating piles of fries and thinking this is what a serving is.

Back in the early days when McDonalds was new up until some time in the 1970's, a serving of fries was a tiny flat paper pouch with no pleats. It held a very small amount of fries. Now you get a box of fries bigger than your foot and people go home and dish up those kinds of portions on a daily basis. That is why America is fat.

People need to get mindful about what they are putting in their bodies.

Rant over.

In other news: I'M THE CAAAAAAAAT!!

This will only make sense to the one reader who knows me in real life.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!