Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-06-28 - 8:57 p.m.

My nephew was planning to leave tomorrow for the rest of the summer, but he got off work early so he decided to go today.

You know what this means, right? I am nobody's guardian but my own for the next couple of months!! I don't have to be a good example. I don't have to be sensible. I now have full privacy... I can run around naked if I want to... and I DO want to, as it happens. For the rest of the summer I don't have to worry about anyone but myself. I shall only be concerned about my own dinner, no one else's dinner matters to me right now! I will sing at the top of my lungs! I may run while holding scissors! You never know how wild and crazy this could get!

I fixed the boy a nice plate of good food, gave him all the appropriate warnings about being careful and not getting into trouble, gave him a hug, and ushered him out the door... hopefully I didn't seem too awfully gleeful as I waved farewell. I tried to keep the giggling down to a minimum. I love the kid, but I'm so very glad to have a break. He took so much stuff with him, he loaded up at least half of his earthly possessions into his car. I asked him if he was going for a visit or moving out forever.

I bet he will only come back if he gets sick of things there with his dad. I don't think he is serious about wanting to go back to school. I think if he makes good money and sees a way to live sort of on his own, he will stay there. My mom and sister don't know this is happening. They are probably both going to ask me why I didn't try to stop him. I really can't stop him. He's 19. I can't make him act right either and I'm tired of trying to wrangle this kid. Just like all the other teenagers, he wants to make his own mistakes and call all the shots in his own life, even though he's exceedingly bad at it. Hah!

I will be here if he neeeeeeeeeds. In the mean time, I'm going to enjoy my life immensely for the next couple of months.

::Happy::

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!