Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-06-07 - 12:21 p.m.

Ever since I overhauled my lifestyle and cut the carbs out, I have a kitchen that is fully stocked with only the things I can have. (Nephew has his own stash of carb-loaded goodies, but I don't touch it) Because of this, I can go on a trip and eat a few things that are not on my usual eating plan and then return home and go right back to eating exactly right for me. This makes all the difference in maintaining the new healthy regimen. I don't have to worry about falling off the wagon and losing my healthy lifestyle. Diets don't work because they are temporary and you are just hanging on by your fingernails until you can revert to your comfortable old ways. If you can make a new lifestyle, create a healthy kitchen, find healthy go-to snacks so you are never miserable and do all of this long enough to make this your new comfort zone, you will have lasting success. Once you really connect how you can literally feel the effects of the wrong foods in your body, you don't want to feel bad! My buddy was commenting on how "good" I was during our trip because I never drink sugar, I passed up the biscuits, I didn't eat the sweet rolls and donuts. I chose protein for breakfast and none of the carbs. It's not so much about willpower anymore. It's more like I didn't want to feel terrible! I did cheat some though. They gave us boxed lunches that were all high carb. I ate a cookie. I'm a recovering cookie monster and it was peanut butter... my fave.

Once I eat a little bit of carbs and gluten, I can feel it in my body. It's amazing how poisonous simple carbs are to my system. I do eat complex carbs, like broccoli and leafy greens. I cut out simple carbs that turn immediately into sugar. Things like white bread, pasta, white rice, sugar... these are poisonous to diabetics. I dearly love bread of all types, and if I am going to fall off the wagon, that is usually how I choose to fall. Bread is my poison of choice. After I have a cheat day, I wake up the next day feeling the effects of it. Bread hangover. Hah!

I ordered some Mediterranean Oregano Oil from Greece because I've been reading about the health benefits. It is a super strong natural antibiotic. It will kill germs, candida, and parasites of all kinds. It will prevent gingivitis and even reverse it for those who already have it. You put a drop on your toothbrush and then add your toothpaste and brush normally. It kind of burns and has a taste that reminds me of the old fashioned Listerine mouth wash. I wonder if that is the germ killing ingredient in Listerine! It can be mixed with olive oil and applied to the skin to kill a fungus. It can be brushed on the nails or used to kill foot fungus. It reduces inflammation. It can be taken internally, a few drops a day will kill off germs and parasites. It is good for respiratory problems and all kinds of things. I am currently doing the toothbrush thing and my mouth is oh-so-clean. I plan to start ingesting a few drops a day just as a preventative and to reduce inflammation and remove any candida that may be lurking around. I know a very old lady who is never sick and she says it is due to her daily dose of oregano oil. Seems legit to me. I'm going to start that today.

There are all kinds of natural things we can do to increase our health.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!