Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-05-25 - 6:24 p.m.

Happy Memorial Day!!

I'm getting much better at cooking on the grill. Practice makes perfect, right? It's not an extremely complicated science, but you do get better at managing the heat level, placement of coals and meat, cooking times, etc.

For our Memorial Day BBQ, I grilled a variety of meats and I made a big ole Amish Broccoli Salad, low carb, of course. Here's the recipe for that tasty salad:

1 lb fresh broccoli (chopped into florets)
1 lb fresh cauliflower (chopped)
Red onion to taste (diced small)
1/2 lb bacon, fried and crumbled (7 slices)
2 cups grated Cheddar cheese
1 cup mayonnaise (Duke's is the best)
1 cup sour cream
Liquid sweetener (sweetener to equal 1/2 cup sugar sweetness)
1/2 tsp salt, OR to taste

Fry the bacon and crumble it, chop and dice the veggies, stir together mayo and sour cream in a bowl, add the liquid sweetener and mix well. Once everything is shredded, diced, and crumbled in a large bowl, pour the contents of the mayo bowl over the veggies and mix well. Cover and refrigerate or serve immediately. Locate your grandma and slap her.**


Yield: 12 servings
1 serving contains:
302.9 calories
25.7 g protein
25.7 g fat
1.6 g fiber
4.1 g net carbs <-- The important thing

For today's salad, I cut this recipe in half and used only broccoli. I wanted to save my cauliflower for another day. I put in about 1/4 cup of diced red onion. This salad is such good stuff and using the EZ Sweetz liquid sweetener, you cannot tell it is artificial sweetener. That stuff is the bomb. I order it from Amazon. It comes in a really small bottle, but it lasts for a long time. It drips out of the bottle one drop at a time, unless you squeeze it. I like exactly 8 drops in a big mug of tea. 1 drop of it in a pot of boiling turnips will eliminate the bitter taste that sometimes is present in cooked turnips. Very useful stuff.

** People from other countries may not understand that when Americans taste something particularly good, it makes us want to "slap your grandma".

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!