Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-04-11 - 1:31 p.m.

Last night, I let the dogs out in the yard to do their business and before I could step out the door myself, I saw Jax pounce on a HUGE spider and scoop it up with his mouth. It was about 3 times the size of his nose. Bigger than his mouth. This was an unpleasantly large arachnid. The spider bit him and he dropped it post haste and ran off shaking his head and whimpering. Color me horrified. The spider was all bowed up in his ass-kicking stance and then it sauntered off the porch with attitude. I went online to search for info. I'm pretty sure it was a wolf spider and their venom is not deadly, but it is painful. A veterinarian's website said watch your dog for swelling and infection, but that is about the worst case scenario from a wolf spider bite unless the dog is allergic to the venom. Jax recovered pretty quickly and there hasn't been any swelling so far. I think he's fine.

This morning when I looked at my phone, I saw that I had missed a call from my mom. I turn off the sound on my phone when I'm going to sleep to prevent lunatics from calling me in the middle of the night. Drunk dialing is apparently a thing.

So I called my mom back and she told me that Uncle E has taken a turn for the worse. First they thought he was going to die, then they thought he was going to make it, and now we are back to preparing for a funeral. She told me that if I'd like to come now, I should throw some things together, pack up my dogs and come on. She also gave me the option to wait for the funeral. My uncle is not aware of what is going on around him and my presence there is not going to comfort anyone all that much, so I am waiting for the funeral. The timing is just spectacular since Jax is going in for surgery on Tuesday morning. If Uncle dies over the weekend, the funeral is going to coincide with the surgery. Once the pup is checked in at the animal hospital, I can't go anywhere. You don't go to funerals for the dead person. They are not present anymore. You go for their spouse and their kids. Uncle E's son is definitely one of my favorite people on the globe. He's sad today.

We lost my uncle years ago. His life has been dwindling for a long, long while.

This stuff just makes you want to love up your loved ones.

QQ


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!