Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-04-03 - 1:15 p.m.

Late in the work day yesterday an email was sent out to all of us workers saying that we are off at the half day today. I wish they had let us know this a few days in advance for the sake of planning. Now that I'm off work, I could totally go see my family for Easter weekend. I must admit that I really don't feel like going anywhere today. I am hesitant to take the new pup to mom's house, because I know I will have to constantly run after him and take him outside every few minutes to keep him from crapping mom's floor. My folks have my niece for the Easter break and they are taking her home tomorrow, but I could still hang with my kid while they are doing that. I'd love to see everyone, but I'm kind of ... meh.. not feeling like doing a road trip.

Nephew is going away this weekend and I will have the house to myself which is something I've been looking forward to. I have new canvases and an easel and I might do some painting this weekend. I could spend a weekend of free time all kinds of ways.

But here I am with this perfect opportunity to go see my family. Oh, the dilemma.

I cooked such a good dinner last night. I make a damn fine roast, I do must say. Here's how to do that: You need a good skillet with a lid that can be placed in a hot oven. No melty handles allowed. Brown a chuck roast in some flavorless coconut oil, season it up with salt and pepper. Remove the roast to a plate once it's browned on both sides. Dice up 2 carrots, a few stalks of celery, and an onion (don't worry, all the crunch will cook out) throw this in the skillet with the roast drippings and stir fry it a few minutes. Add a half a stick of butter and liberally sprinkle in some Worchestershire sauce. It doesn't need additional seasonings. Stir well, spread evenly in the skillet and lay the roast right on top of it. Place whole skillet with lid in a 275 degree oven for 2.5 hours, or until very tender. This is the best roast EVAAARRR. I like to tear up the meat on the plate and then spoon some of the veggies on top of it. Carrots have carbs, so I just don't take much of that on my plate. The vegetables cook down and flavor up the roast. In last night's dinner, I added a few small turnips, peeled and sliced in halves. I arranged these around the roast and they were great. Turnips have a few carbs, but only a mere fraction of what you would get from potatoes.

I posted a thing about my chia pudding and an article about the health benefits of chia seeds. This is kind of amazing: I've heard that chia seeds are healthy for you and they are full of omega 3s, but I looked into it further and found that "full of omega 3s" is an understatement. Two tablespoons of chia seeds contains 5 times your daily requirement of omega 3s. That same 2 T. contains 40% of your daily fiber needs! They have anti-inflammatory properties and they have other nutrients, like calcium and potassium. They are a really nutrient dense super-food. They are said to lower blood pressure as well and fight diabetes!

I like fruit because it is sweet, tangy, fruity, and wet/refreshing... and my chia pudding is all of those things but with very low amounts of carbs and fructose. Since I learned that fructose stays in your liver, I am not taking in a lot of fruit. I think that fruit sugar is the reason my fasting blood sugars were high before.

My mom told me today that she and my dad are loving their new low carb life and dad's blood sugars are normal all of the time. Since they cut carbs, his highest reading, even right after eating, has been 135. That is amazing. There's no doubt that diabetics need to be living a ketogenic lifestyle.

I want some chia pudding. I'm going to go make some. I had a cup of that for lunch yesterday and was full as a tick for hours. It's very filling stuff. I can see how people use it to kill their appetite and lose weight. People are starting to message me on FB, telling me that they've been following my recipes and stuff. I'm happy to be able to help people.

Your health is the most important thing you have. You can't enjoy anything else when your health is shot. Inflammation is a killer. A disease maker. You have to get the inflammation out of your body. Avoiding carbs, taking in anti-inflammatory foods, and using things like apple cider vinegar and chia seeds are some ways to reduce inflammation. I'm going to get into more bio-hacking and will be posting more on that here. There are ways to get the most out of your physical body. There are ways to crank up your mental clarity. Let's do it!

::love::

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!