Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2015-03-07 - 2:44 p.m.

A word about my bone broth from yesterday... next time I will buy soup bones instead of bones with meat and fat on it. The ox tails had too much fat on them and the first sip of broth was pure fat. I'd say the top inch of liquid in the crock pot was pure fat. Fat is good for us and all, but dayum. I had to scoop off the majority of the fat and get down to the good stuff. The meat from the ox tails was good. It was just like roast.

My new puppy is adorable. My older sweet baby dog is... tolerating him mostly and at times, they play together. I think they are going to be fine friends once the baby gets over his tendency to jump face first into everything. I just posted an adorable video of him on the book of face. I laid down on the floor and called to him and he ran straight at the camera and bumped into it with his face. If I didn't know better, I would think he's drunk.

I also posted on the book of face a no sugar, no grain flour, super low carb carrot cake recipe that is really fantastic and takes only a minute to stir it up and a minute to microwave it. It's a one serving carrot cake in an 8 ounce ramekin. It can be made in a coffee mug, but the ramekin is perfect. There is also a cream cheese frosting that whips up in a quick minute and there you have it. This cake has the right texture for carrot cake. It only takes 2 tablespoons of grated carrot and some pecans, but I'm sure you could grate up some zucchini instead of carrots and have zucchini bread.

I know how to make cheesy biscuits out of almond flour and shredded cheddar that are just unbelievable. They are like the cheddar bay biscuits at Red Lobster. It is amazing that you can make something that good for almost no carbs. The texture is right, and I use them for breakfast sandwiches when I have them around. Each one has a few carbs, so I haven't been keeping things like that around all the time. I've been staying as close to 0 carbs as possible, but now that I am very steady and keto-adapted, I can have a few things. I'm careful though. I don't want to 2 carb and 3 carb my way out of ketosis!

The special ingredients for all the recipes are easily ordered on Amazon if not available locally. The cake recipe calls for golden flax meal which is all fiber, therefore 0 carbs. It also takes some almond flour, which is just ground almonds and has very little carbs. There are some spices, baking powder, and salt in it and an artificial sweetener (called Swerve)that while you are eating it, it tastes just like real sugar, but then there is a slight, almost undetectable bitter-ish after taste. Nowhere near as bad as saccharin, but a very faint taste is there. I'm trying different sweeteners out to see what I like. This was "Swerve" confectioner's sugar substitute. It's very good. I like it.

This little recipe made an individual cake that is supposed to be eaten as 1 serving, but it was too big a piece of cake for me to eat at once, so I ate half and put the rest away for later. 2.5 carbs is all there was in the piece I ate. There is a recipe for a chocolate muffin too that uses the flax meal, almond flour, and chocolate powder. I might put whipped cream on that for icing. I'll try that another day. I did a big Amazon order for all the unusual ingredients I'm seeing in the "Low Carbing With Friends" recipes. So now I'm ready to try stuff I haven't tried yet. Anyone reading this can access those recipes by liking the "Low Carbing With Friends" page on face book.

Bwah.... yesterday at the grocery store, I saw a guy who looked SO MUCH like you, I thought it was actually you for a minute. It really surprised me. He was your height, build, same long hair, T-shirt & jeans, very similar presentation, but his face wasn't right, of course. Same hair color and everything. It was really a shocker on aisle 5. That reminds me of the time Christy and I were in Estes Park and saw YOU right under our balcony. She was saying "Take a picture! Take a picture!" I tried, but he was walking and got too far away before I could get my phone cam ready. Who'da thunk there'd be more than one you walking around? I do miss your mug.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!